• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Help needed for "complete beginner" gear (and intro post, hi!)

JamesB

Booting up
Skier
First up: I've been skiing for a while (more on that in a minute) and I'm looking for help for getting gear for my wife, who is just getting started (like "has been twice and may get off the carpet lift soon" beginner level). My gut says that almost anything is better than rental gear - both for price and for usability - but I wanted some help narrowing the search. She's 5'6 and 130. Length "calculators" put her appropriate ski length at 150-155, but I'm thinking that is for "skiing linked turns off of a lift serviced chair" beginner, not "just learning to turn" beginner. I'm thinking that something no shorter than 130 and no longer than 150 is probably right? And I'm thinking a lot of ski options - from materials to ski shape to camber - are probably less important than "just getting out there" ...but if I'm wrong, please tell me! I've been looking at used gear. Any advice/help/pointers for getting something in a "better than rental gear but isn't going to leave a smoking hole in my wallet" setup? We just picked up used what seem to be *perfect* boots for her - they are 80 flex, they're a few years old, but they fit, and the moment she put them on she said "WHOA THESE ARE SO MUCH LIGHTER THAN THE RENTALS!!!" which was a great start.