• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Why doesn't PSIA and ski instruction in general utilize gates for teaching round and controlled turns?

wolcoma

Getting on the lift
Skier
As mentioned, I have been coaching ski racing for over 35 years or just after the conclusion of my college racing days. However, over the years I have participated in many PSIA clinics and really enjoy learning their process for teaching. After all as race coaches, especially with kids U14 and under 80% of what we do is ski instruction 101. Even superstar ski racers like Mikaela Shiffrin talks in some of her youtube and other posts about her years of practicing skiing fundamentals. Every season she goes back to working on simple things like practicing roll overs (weight transfer for early edge pressure), pole plant, upper and lower body separation, etc. Therefore, one of my questions for PSIA and other experienced ski instructors why don't you utilize gates, either slalom poles, paneled gates, stubby, or brushes in your daily instruction? For example, when my own kids were learning to ski I set brushes on the bunny slope for them to turn around. When I was in ninth grade our family went on a ski vacation in Lech, Austria and because the resort was so big, they recommended we all enroll in ski school so we didn't get lost. Every day in my group (they knew I was a racer) the instructor took us through the gates. He was an amazing skier and obviously had a very extensive ski racing background as he flawlessly mastered the race course! Meanwhile, I rarely see U.S. ski instructors using any type of course for skiers to go around. Just wanted your thoughts on the topic?

BLiP

Out on the slopes
Skier