• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Lots of questions: experienced and inexperienced skier at the same time.

nightingale

Putting on skis
Skier
Sorry if I put this in the wrong place, I'm new!

Let's start with the background. I've been skiing 30 to 40 hours a season for the past 8 years concentrated into one week per year. About 20 of those hours in small group lessons with a good ski instructor. The remaining hours were spent messing around. Last year I didn't ski due to COVID. Anyway, with this very little experience, I am a pretty good skiier (I think, that's what my coach says). My coach says I have fairly good technique for someone with such little experience. I may be wrong, but I think this fast improvement came from me being a professional figure skater. I am very strong (especially in my legs, core, and ankles) and am coachable and have learned from years of skating how to apply corrections within the first couple attempts. The unfortunate side to this is that I am clueless about how to buy skis, how to find a good instructor, all that other stuff. The stuff I should know by now I feel. So here's my 1000000 questions.

Compared to how my skates fit, my ski boots are very, very loose. I'm aware they shouldn't fit exactly the same, but my heel moves a great deal and I can pronate and supinate my foot without the boot moving with my foot at all. When I'm in my skates, my boot responds and tips to grip the edge of the blade but my ski boots don't only move a teenly little bit until I try to move my whole leg (so originating the movement from the hip instead of the feet). Is this normal? If not, where could I find a good boot fitter in eastern Massachusetts? I have no idea what I'm doing. These boots I bought used.

Next topic, my skis are the correct length. They're Roxy all mountain twin tips. Another thing I bought used. Are those good?