• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Head Monster 88 verses Rossingnol Experience 88 HD

Jay Carver

Booting up
Skier
I am relatively new to Pugski and I have seen some separate reviews of the Head Monster 88 and the Rossingnol Experience 88HD. In the Monster 88 reviews when they have listed similar skis the Rossingnol E88 HD was not listed. I know through reading ski reviews on this site that if the physical characteristic of the skis are similar or the same, it doesn´t mean that the 2 skis will ski the same way.
I am very interested to know how these skis are similar and how they are different, as I understand from the reviews they are both very good mid width Piste killers, but may differ when they are taken off Piste.

Head Monster 88
  • Lengths (in cm) 163, 170, 177, 184
  • Turning radius 17.4m (177cm)
  • Sidecut 133-88-114
  • Core Wood, metal, Graphene
Rossignol Experience 88HD
  • Lengths (in cm) 156, 164, 172, 180, 188
  • Turning radius 17m (180cm)
  • Sidecut 135-88-124
  • Core Wood, carbon

Cheizz

AKA Gigiski
Skier
I found the Monster to be more smooth and more energetic. Or rather, I found the E88 to be a bit dead (the Basalt, I think), only good at railroad carve turn on smooth surfaces. So for crud, soft snow, slush and even hardpack, I personally would go for the Monsters.

But I wouldn't rule out the Völkl Kendo or Black Crows Orb. Both would be more versatile in any type of conditions, even better on hardpack than the Monster or E88 (which both are quite heavy, too). My opinion, of course.

LewyM

Getting off the lift
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter