• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Will Higher Level Instructor Certification Help Me Teach Beginners Better?

Magikarp

Putting on skis
Skier
TL: DR at bottom

I’m currently a Level 2 instructor with CSIA that teaches part-time. I’m thinking about pursuing higher-level certifications but having mixed feelings about it.

I chose to teach skiing because I wanted to improve my skiing technique. But what brings me the greatest satisfaction is teaching, especially to beginners. Being able to see students discover their capabilities or rediscover themselves is an extremely exciting, almost addictive experience for me. I still get enjoyment by teaching intermediates or advanced students, but the improvements aren’t as immediate.

This is consistent with my own experience in trying to improve my own skiing, the growth curve just slows, which is why I believe skiing is relatively easy to learn but hard to master.

Pursuing the higher levels is going to come with some clear trade-offs. The courses aren’t cheap, and the difference in work pay isn’t that significant. I will to have to spend more time training and taking courses, which requires a high level of dedication. Lastly, the higher level courses focus on advance skiing and teaching techniques, which doesn’t 100% align with my mindset, especially for teaching.

Many other instructors pursuing further certifications look forward to teaching more skilled students because they get to ski more. Higher level instructors get priority on teaching “better lessons”, and don’t have to stay on the bunny hill with beginners. Somehow, that doesn’t excite me. When I am responsible for a group of students, I stick to the “maximum difficulty on minimum terrain” idea. I’m not going to ski as fast or as difficult of terrain that I normally would, and I can’t really enjoy the skiing that much because my focus is on delivering a good lesson.