• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Non Region Specific Trip Poll: March 1st Options

Where should I ski in March this year?

• Whitefish

Votes: 3 37.5%
  • Schweitzer

Votes: 1 12.5%
  • Copper / Breck / Keystone / A-Basin / Loveland

Votes: 2 25.0%
  • Tamarack / Brundage

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Crystal Mountain

• Other?

• Total voters

TonyPlush

Out on the slopes
Skier
I'm planning my annual solo ski trip, and over the years I've learned that picking Skitalk's brain is an invaluable part of the process. So, thanks in advance for your advice!

I'm looking at a quick 2-3 weekdays of skiing around March 1st. After checking my flight options from Minneapolis, I think I've narrowed it down to these possibilities, in no particular order.

Whitefish: I've been once, 3 years ago, and experienced a legendarily terrible whiteout. (Even by local standards.) But I still had a great time and vowed to return and hopefully see some of the scenery.

This option is always nice contender thanks to convenient, direct flights from Minneapolis. (3 hours of flight time) Last I checked, the Hampton Inn Whitefish still has the free airport shuttle, and the town of Whitefish runs buses to the big mountain, so I can probably skip the rental car entirely.

Speaking of which, I can use Hilton points on that hotel, so this trip will be the cheapest option.

Schweitzer: I went last year, lucked into a 10+ inch powder day, and fell in love with this place. That said, I did just go last year, so maybe variety is the spice of life? Or maybe when you find a good thing, you can stop looking?

This is also the value pick, with a total price tag that comes in about $200-500 cheaper than everything besides Whitefish.

Denver (Summit County): I lived there 8 years ago, but haven't been back in a long time. Mostly because I try to avoid Epic Crowds (Trademarked Term?) like the plague.