• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

[maintenance tuning] Keeping the edges sharp in-between tune ups?

Mendieta

Master of Snowplow
SkiTalk Tester
Contributor
Hi all.

Complete tuning newbie here. I got easy apply quick wax from @SlideWright , and also a brush and synthetic cork (as recommended by @cantunamunch ). Love it. Now I can prep my skis before a trip, not as well as a pro, but much better than nothing. I use two chairs outside as my bench for now :D

That's how bad I am at this. My next task is to be able to keep edges sharp and smooth. I tried googling but it's all so new to me. To be clear, I am not looking to learn how to do a base grind and a full tune, I am not changing the edge angles. I want to keep them the way they are, say 1*/2* , but give them a pass with (a diamond? A file? What do you need for this?) whatever is needed, so that they stay sharp and the occasional chip by a rock gets rectified

So, what kind of tool do I need? Any good videos on how to apply it? Again, I am looking for something really basic.

Waxing? I am hoping the DPS Phantom thing lives up to its expectations and all my skis get treated for it, one less thing to worry :)

davjr96

Getting off the lift
Skier