• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

base cleaner?

murphysf

Ski Well, Be Well.
Skier
Hello

Am a newbie and about to start waxing my and my families skis.

I wanted to know if a household citrus cleaner / degreaser from home depot is a good choice for a base cleaner?

Are these ok or is there something else to consider? I am just getting started so wanted to know if there is an alternate to buying specialized cleaners marketed just for the ski industry.

The concentrated gallon for $11 makes 16 gallons.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/ZEP-24-oz-Heavy-Duty-Citrus-Degreaser-ZUCIT24CA/203804192

http://www.homedepot.com/p/ZEP-128-oz-Heavy-Duty-Citrus-Degreaser-ZUCIT128CA/203804190

TS
M

murphysf

Ski Well, Be Well.
Skier
thanks, I am learning, there seems to be so many different techniques and opinions out there

this is where I got the idea for the citrus cleaner

Dwight

Practitioner of skiing, solid and liquid
Admin
SkiTalk Supporter
Hello

Am a newbie and about to start waxing my and my families skis.

I wanted to know if a household citrus cleaner / degreaser from home depot is a good choice for a base cleaner?

Are these ok or is there something else to consider? I am just getting started so wanted to know if there is an alternate to buying specialized cleaners marketed just for the ski industry.

The concentrated gallon for $11 makes 16 gallons.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/ZEP-24-oz-Heavy-Duty-Citrus-Degreaser-ZUCIT24CA/203804192

http://www.homedepot.com/p/ZEP-128-oz-Heavy-Duty-Citrus-Degreaser-ZUCIT128CA/203804190

Well, there are many opinions. I use Simple Green or Citrus equivalent on my skis. But it is more to remove the dirt, not necessarily the wax. If ski is bad, hot wax and hot scrape works very well.

razie

Sir Shiftsalot
Skier
SkiTalk Supporter
NO.

really, you don't need that. the one thing you could do is to use alcohol and wipe the base, the medicinal type for external use.