• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Individual Review Supernatural 100

Castle Dave

Getting off the lift
Skier
Product:
Length Tested: 179 Line Supernatural 100

Dimensions/Turn Radius: 132/100/121, 21.3 m sidecut
Early Rise Tip & Tail w/camber
Binding: Look SPX 12
Mount point: Suggested

Other Skis in Class:
*Bonafide

Environment & Conditions:
Location of Test: Apex Resort, Penticton, BC
Number of Runs: 5 days
Snow Conditions: chopped 3" off piste, rough groomers
Own

Tester Info:

Username: Castle Dave
Height/Weight: 6'2"
Ski Days/Season: 40
Years Skiing:30
Aggressiveness: moderately agressive but not stupid
Current skis: 185 Line Sick Day 125, 185 first gen Cochise (all metal, no carbon), 179 Line Supernatural 100, vintage 178 Dynastar Contact Limited

Home Area: Apex Resort, Penticton, BC
Preferred Terrain: off-piste, trees

I moved to Penticton from Sparwood BC where I had been skiing Fernie and Castle for the last 10 years. Fernie but especially Castle are perfect for Big Mountain charger skis with big bowls and nicely spaced trees. Apex is somewhat the opposite and features short steep bumps and super tight trees. I needed a quicker, shorter, more manouverable ski than my OG Cochises. I demoed the 180 Bonafide and found them to be excellent skis but they required full commitment 100% of the time and I didn't want to work that hard. I also found them to be very 'crisp' almost like the old Volkls and my preference is for a damper, smoother ski. In other words something one notch down from the Bonafide but still with good performance.

After reading BlisterGearReviews

http://blistergearreview.com/gear-reviews/2014-2015-line-supernatural-100