• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Skiing Styles

Guy in Shorts

Tree Psycho
Skier
My self-taught style of skiing may never reach the level of being called stylish but it has served me well over the last forty seasons. All I need to do is watch one of the half dozen friends and relatives that I taught how to ski by following me to really see an uglier version of my style. Eons ago in my Navy days skiing buddy would wear out the plastic on the sides of his boots due to skiing with his feet together. No matter how hard I tried I could never ski this style. Loved when skis became wider and skiing with your feet apart became the norm as I was already happily there. Last year I was attacked for my imperfect technique by a PITA Killington regular that goes by the name of Highway Star on our local website. After defending me the best the locals could come up with to describe my style is a power style with the finesse of a runaway bulldozer.

Hate the idea of conforming to anyone else’s standard but added reading the Pugski ski school threads, bought a used pair of 88 under foot Blizzard Brahmas to encourage turning, starting following the instructors that I regularly hang with trying to mirror their turns, swapped my daily drivers to the Renouns and napped a khaki pair of Burton ski pants to match the new skis. Pleased to report I now have look of a polished up runaway bulldozer. Pretty sure that the must be some others bulldozers out there somewhere having as much fun as I do.

Is having a perfect skiing style important to you? Do you like or hate or want to alter your own unique skiing style?

KevinF

Gathermeister-New England
Team Gathermeister
What is "style"? Technique?