• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Nice to Find

Frankly

Upwind of NY
Pass Pulled
I stumbled upon this looking for race gossip and I did! I like what I see as it doesn't seem to be so large it's confusing but there is enough critical mass to carry on good threads.

I'm a 57-year old skier near Rochester, New York. I prefer to ski at Holimont in Ellicotville but often hit Bristol as it is an hour closer. I also like Holiday Valley, Killington, Stowe, and I love Alta (although it's been years since I've hit it with powder). I'm thinking of driving up to Sugarloaf this Winter, please talk me out of it.

I'm a professional photographer, mostly I do my own art now but will do interesting assignments. I used to be in advertising, owned a small agency and worked as a creative director for some dot.coms.

These days I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and a catalog of older injuries that have curtailed my skiing somewhat (I stay out of the bumps and ruts). I'm now into a softer boot and cheater GS skis so I can fake it OK. My feet are the weak link, many spurs removed, structurally unsound, I was Miguel Azcarate's biggest boot fitting challenge.

My background is starting to ski at a rope tow hill in 1975, went nuts for it and tried to race in college (Clarkson), later became and instructor then race coach. Spent a year at Alta, Utah and two at Sugarloaf, Maine, plus two Summers at Timberline, Mt. Hood. Coached the University of Oregon. This all ended with a climbing accident that broke my lower body so I went back to college, got married, moved back East, etc. Three kids who are not serious skiers, two wives who never took to it. So I steal my pleasures where I can ;-p Went to the Mahre Masters Camp at Mt Hood last year and found I couldn't keep up with them... doh!