• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Long-Term Test: 2017 Lange RS 140

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester
Lange RS 140
Last: 97mm
Size tested: 25.5 (296mm BSL)
Design: NGT​

During our meeting with Lange at SIA, I realized I have been skiing for 40 years or so, but never in one of the most popular, best-selling brands of all time. I have had the posters, the "Trust me, I am a bootfitter” t-shirts, hats galore, and plenty of other swag -- but never a Lange ski boot. That has changed, and there is a new RS 140 in my boot rotation.​
IMG_0569.JPG
The RS 140 is a boot you are fairly familiar with. Think of an RS 130 that goes to 11. How does it go to 11? Well, the RS 140 is the bridge between Lange's hugely popular RS series and its full-on race boots (ZJ/ZA/ZB/ZC). It is the same solid-sole 97mm shell used for the RS130 with a few upgrades such as locking buckles and, most significantly, a World Cup cork-flow lace-up liner. The lace-up makes the boot marginally stiffer, but the big difference is the fit: the cork liner is snugger and more anatomic, especially in the heel pocket. The tongue is detachable and can be moved up and down to match the instep perfectly.​
IMG_0570.JPG
I needed to make a few modifications before skiing. The first step was to bring over my posted Instaprint footbeds, and the second was to flatten the zeppa. The Lange zeppas have an inherent arch built into them, and while it is only 2 or 3 mm high, remember that a millimeter is a mile in a boot. I usually belt sand the zeppa to get it flat, which allows the custom footbed to sit flat and gives back those few millimeters over the instep. I also had to do a grind for my fifth metatarsal bone.​
IMG_0573.JPG