• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Liners or New Boots — General Confirmation Sought

Read Blinn

lakespapa
Inactive
The stock liners on my Dalbello Boss boots (26.5-ish mondo, 307 BSL) are shot — tons of ankle pain lasting days afterward. In many ways I've liked the boot for its more upright stance, excellent heel cup (still no movement after 116 days), and low cuff, so I thought to replace the liners. On the other hand, for the past couple of seasons I've found the boot inadequate to pressuring the forebody of the ski. The boot is a "110" flex (I'm a short guy), FWIW, but I don't believe the boots were designed for carve-mechanics, anyway — seem more park boot than racing boot. Bill Haight at GMOL fitted them.

Unready to buy new boots, though, I stopped at a local shop (naming no names) to ask about liners. People have liked this place, which carries Boot Doc and Intuition, but I've had no experience with their boot fitting. While the owner was checking liner stock, the fitter seemed bent on discouraging liners and encouraging boots. Intuition, he said, has terrible heel-hold — this contradicts what I was told by the Kästle rep, who'd used Intuition for years and loved them. Then the owner reappeared to say they didn't have liners in my size.

I mentioned my other boot concerns, and the fitter said, Why bother with liners, then? Just buy a new boot. Everything's on sale right now.

I said I'd consider it, and that I'd call back to make an appointment. The owner said, "Oh, you don't need an appointment. We have top-flight boot fitters here all the time." I must have looked skeptical because, after a moment, he said, "People don't keep appointments, anyway. Well, maybe you do, but . . . ." After I left the shop, I called Nick Blaylock at Mount Snow.

So my question, I guess, is: liners or boots?