• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Want To Buy Help support a K2-edition tribute Merkur XR4Ti, 80s K2 5500s (or others)

vociferoussky

Booting up
Skier
Happy March '24 all!

I spent the last 15 years of my life in the PNW, while also realizing a junior high dream of owning one of these oddball cars. I have decided to recognize the history of K2 at a unique point in Ford's history by recreating a K2-edition 1987.5 Merkur XR4Ti. There's very few artifacts, and no known examples of this co-branded car. So...because I have to be different, I'm creating one. I'm a rank amateur skier because I grew up with little money and few hills in ND/MN/SD/IA, but did get a second chance in WA to improve my skills, as well as learning to snowboard (forced to, because daughter!). Anyway, to my point...

I've got vinyl door graphics created, and have a Yakima, gutter-mount ski rack (as a substitute until I find what kind of ski rack in the picture below). The missing piece here, clearly, is two sets or K2 5500s. While I've been told by collectors that these K2 skis are common, I've been struggling to find them. Having two pair would match the picture, and would be fun to match, but in reality, I'm looking for one pair, and another 80s-era K2 set of skis to throw on the top for the 80s/90s car show, "Radwood" that happens around the country on an annual basis.

Happy to share pictures of the car, once I get the graphics on. Really looking forward to having some fun with this car with the 80s/80s and K2 references/call outs.

Chris Grant
Fargo -> Minneapolis -> Seattle -> New Braunfels TX

OIP2.jpg

c286ba4f-be3b-4efe-b1eb-3e22110816c0.png

pipestem

Out on the slopes
Skier
Im not ready to part with my k2 comp 710, but, ..... I well remember the XR4Ti from the pages of R&T. Are you saying there really was a co branded show car about 1987 ?

fatbob

Not responding
Skier