• For more information on how to avoid pop-up ads and still support SkiTalk click HERE.

Are these skis awful?

CrystalRose

Putting on skis
Skier
Hi all. Looking for advice. I ran across these skis and I'm wondering what's wrong with/ are they awful? I can't seem to find anything about them online. I understand they are of course not top of the line I'm just curious as to why the are priced so low.

I'm an advanced beginner so I'm not looking for top of line at this stage anyway. And before anyone yells out "BOOTS!", I understand their importance. I plan on getting that sorted out but if I have my own boots I would like to go straight from the car to the mountain without dealing with the rental shop. Plus I think it would be nice to ski on the same thing for consistency as I keep learning.

Volkl Essenza RTM 8.0 Women's Skis
https://www.levelninesports.com/volkl-essenza-rtm-8-0-women-s-skis-2017?utm_source=criteo

Info on me:

Height: 6"0"
Weight: 160
Where I ski: California (Big Bear, Snow Summit, Mammoth)

I'm looking at the 165 cm length.

Thanks!!

fatbob

Not responding
Skier
The description tells you why you can't find a lot about them online they were not a N American release and not all European skis get thoroughly reviewed in English.

They look like they would be OK for developing in west coast snow to me but I'm not female or a beginner so I'll wait for someone better qualified to come along.

slowrider

Trencher
Skier
Sounds like a good deal. Wood core/Volkl. Like bob I'm not female and only slightly better than a beginner. Bought a few items from L9. Alwaya good.

Marty McSly

Getting off the lift
Skier
Some of the UK sites might prove helpful.

snowheads.com or ellis-brigham.com perhaps?

Philpug

Notorious P.U.G.
Admin
SkiTalk Tester